Korhola nominated for MEP of the year at the annual MEP Awards


Eija-Riitta Korhola, MEP of the Finnish National Coalition Party, has been nominated for MEP of the Year in the energy category at the European Parliament’s annual MEP Awards.
Korhola has acted as the main negotiator for the EPP group in the report concerning the backloading of emission allowances. Her position won in a historic plenary vote in which, for the first time, a Commission climate policy proposal was returned to the committee.

”The consequence of the Commission proposal would have been the rise in electricity prices for both consumers and the industries. In times of economic recession this would have been an unnecessary risk to take. I received massive amounts of congratulations for this victory”, says Korhola. ”I believe that my nomination is a recognition of these very same efforts”.
Apart from Korhola, no other Finnish MEPs have been nominated for this year’s awards. Korhola is also the only Finnish MEP who has been awarded the MEP of the year prize before. The Members of Parliament voted her the Energy MEP of the year in 2009.
In the annual MEP Awards organised by the Parliament Magazine the most accomplished MEPs in different policy areas are voted among three candidates. The final decision is taken by the Members of Parliament.

Korhola is a member of the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety Committee (ENVI) as well as a substitute member of the Industry, Research and Energy Committee (ITRE).
Additional information:

Eija-Riitta Korhola, gsm 040-536.0326

Share Button


Sähköpostiosoitettasi ei julkaista. Pakolliset kentät on merkitty *